The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nightime

DAILY MUSE | I’m about halfway through with The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon. What a creative story and book! It’s about a 13 year old autistic boy who finds that the neighbors dog has been murdered- with a fork. He decides that he is going to figure out who murdered the dog. The story is narrated in his unique voice. You’re constantly present to his stream of conciousness. You observe what he observes. In the way that he, as an austic, observes it. You begin to realize that he notices everything and that he very well may be the perfect detective.

Anyone else read it?

tCIotDitN, wikipedia entry
Mark Haddon, wikipedia entry

5 responses to “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nightime

  1. I read it and really enjoyed it. My nephew is autistic and it gave me some insight into how he may see the world. Good book.

  2. it is, seeing that it won the whitbread book award (now known as costa book awards) several years ago. i find it really sad though that he cannot comprehend emotions the way a normal person does. the author has a new novel out recently, about adults this time (also nominated for the costa book award) called a spot of bother.

    http://sulz.daria.be

  3. sulz…I just saw that new novel. I may pick it up after I finish this. I like his style of writing. I wonder who the narrator is in his new book…

    bookbabie. Thanks for your comment. By the way I loved your blog entry today. I posted it in mine too with a link and credit to yours. It’s so good it has to be shared.

  4. It’s been several years, but it is one of my favorites. My good friend Kat has a cousin that is autistic and I agree with bookbabie that it gave me insight into his world and hers too…growing up with him. He is so joyful…and I read it with him in mind. I feel it was one of those books where I learned a lot about myself and how I might better look at the world. I appreciated the simplicity of it and found beauty in his passion to solve ‘the case’. Glad to hear about his latest book…will have to check it out. Thanks

  5. he’s not 13, man..
    I belive he’s 15..

Leave a Reply

